Celebrating the 75th Anniversary of ProBorrower

Birthday Cake

Image by Will Clayton via Flickr

Wow, how the time flies!  Today marks a significant milestone in the life of this blog with the 75th post.  I’m a sucker for nostalgia as much as the next person so let’s take a look at the most popular posts over the last 75 attempts at coaching on business and personal finance topics.

1.  The most popular post on this blog is 5 Lessons from U.S. Revolutionary War.  What do the Brown Bess Musket and borrowing money have in common?  I have experience with the musket and borrowing money so I drew an analogy that may help you become a better borrower.

2.  Residential mortgage financing has been a hot topic so I examined some facts and myths about home loans in Operation Mortgage Freedom or Prisoner of Myth? The Soldier Dollar Wars.

3.  In Home Ownership or Parasite Buffet? Who’s Sucking your Money Blood? I looked at the history of the American Dream and debunked the politically expedient use of that term to advance social policy around housing.

4.  From a money perspective, when we finish our walk in this life we’ll figuratively untie our financial boot laces for the last time.  Our financial accomplishments and spending failures, borrowing achievements and investment regrets will impact those whom we leave behind.  In The Long Money Walk I explored a few ways our financial “boots” will impact those around us at the end of life’s trail:

5.  Are you following a financial rabbit trail?  Does it loop around in seemingly endless illogical patterns? In Financial Rabbit Trails v.s. GPS Financing: How to Avoid Path Integration I explained how Animals determine their location and direction.  You can learn how to manage the impulse to follow a financial rabbit trail and stay on the path towards your strategic objectives.

6.  I combined my experience as an army helicopter pilot with my knowledge of finance in The Helicopter Pilot and the Borrower.  This post has been very popular by showing how borrowing money is like a safe flight.  From pre-flight to takeoff and landing there are many similarities to finance topics.

7.  I carefully addressed the hot topic of borrowing money from family and friends in a couple of posts:

8.  I took the higher ground with a hopeful attempt at changing borrowers’ thinking.  Maybe we can avoid another financial crisis by following a child-like set of principles called the The Six Pillars of Borrower Character.

9.  I took on the entire housing industry by proving that home ownership does not meet the standard for an investment in Do you Live in a Dead Real Estate “Investment”? Reduce your Financial Crypt Quotient!

10.  And last but not least my personal favorite was a tribute to my daughter’s decision to join the air force and the memories that became due on demand.  Writing became therapy for my sense of loss in Borrowed Time Has Been Repaid in Memories; Farewell Elizabeth

Thanks for reading my posts on finance.  What have you learned?  What do you like about this site?  What would you like to see more of? Less of?  I’d like to hear from you.  Please leave a comment.

About Michael Shelton

Your Business Coach Facilitating Delegation and Work Group Engagement Michael Shelton has over twenty-five years of business and military accomplishments, including extensive experience with one of the largest, publicly traded real estate investment trusts (REIT). He is a qualified business coach with assignments in cross-functional work group management, strategic planning, unit leadership, joint venture acquisitions, executive education, mentoring, training and merger integration. Michael has accumulated best practices for building committed work groups from more than $4 billion of capital markets transactions and commercial property development. He served as a commissioned officer and helicopter pilot in the U.S. Army, and earned his MBA from The University of Arizona. Michael has served as a major conference panelist and is the author of Cash Flow Rich, Winning Ways to Evaluate and Finance Real Estate. Today, he helps business owners get more work group engagement as President and CEO of Shelton Business Services, LLC in Scottsdale, Arizona. Disclaimer: I don't offer investment, legal or tax advice. Talk to your broker, accountant or lawyer for investment, tax and legal help. I might own stock in the companies I mention on-line. My posts, tweets and other on-line activity are my personal thoughts and don't represent my employer or company.
This entry was posted in Borrowing, Borrowing Coach, Borrowing Philosophy, Business Borrowers, Executive Coaching, Finance, Personal Borrowers, Relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Celebrating the 75th Anniversary of ProBorrower

  1. Nice work with your post! I found this article via Yahoo and I’m very glad!

  2. Thanks for the great info mate

  3. Great article post. Keep writing.

  4. nulled php says:

    magnificent points altogether, you just gained a brand new reader. What would you recommend about your post that you made some days ago? Any positive?

  5. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays..

  6. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

Comments are closed.